MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF TYWYN TOWN COUNCIL HELD ON WEDNESDAY 11TH MAY 2022 AT NEUADD PENDRE, TYWYN AND ONLINE VIA ZOOM AT 6.00pm.

PRESENT: Councillor Eileen Jones (Chair)

Councillors: Ron McCoo, John Pughe, Anne Lloyd-Jones, Gareth Mason

Marisa O'Hara, Nancy Clarke, Aled Lewis, Alun Wyn Evans,

Joseph Smith, Cathy Evans, Matthew Cooling.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Chris Wood (Clerk)

001. **ELECTION OF CHAIR FOR 2022 - 2023**

Nominations were invited for the position of Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2022 – 2023.

Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones proposed Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2022 – 2023, with Councillor Rowan Smith seconding the proposal.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Chair of Tywyn Town

Council and Mayor of the Town for 2022 – 2023.

002. APOLOGIES

None received

003. **DECLARATION OF INTEREST:**

Councillor Nancy Clark, Husband is a Trustee of the Ynysymaengwyn Trust.

004. RECEIVE THE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

The Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

005. <u>ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR FOR 2022 - 2023</u>

Nominations were invited for the position of Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2022 – 2023.

Councillor Aled Lewis proposed that Councillor John Pughe be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2022 – 2023, with Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones seconding the proposal.

RESOLVED: That Councillor John Pughe be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town

Council for 2022 - 2023.

006. RECEIVE THE VICE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

The Vice Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

007. TO REVIEW THE TERMS OF REFERENCE FOR THE FOLLOWING COMMITTEES

- 7.1 Finance Committee
- 7.2 Planning Committee
- 7.3 Environment Committee
- 7.4 Personnel Committee
- 7.5 Personnel Appeals PaneL

RESOLVED: To approve the Terms of Reference as presented with Councillor

Ron McCoo proposing and Councillor Aled Lewis seconding the

motion.

008. TO APPOINT MEMBERS TO THE FOLLOWING COMMITTEES

- 8.1 Finance Committee
- 8.2 Planning Committee
- 8.3 Environment Committee
- 8.4 Personnel Committee
- 8.5 Personnel Appeals Panel

RESOLVED: To appoint members to the Finance Committee as follows, with

Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones proposing and Councillor John Pughe

seconding the proposal:

8.1 Finance Committee

Cllrs Gareth Mason, Aled Lewis, Eileen Jones, Nancy Clarke, Anne Lloyd-Jones, John Pughe

RESOLVED: To appoint members to the Planning Committee as follows, with

Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones proposing and Councillor John Pughe

seconding the proposal:

8.2 Planning Committee

Cllrs Ron McCoo, Alun Wyn Evans, John Pughe, Rowan Smith, Cathy Evans, Nancy Clarke

RESOLVED: To appoint members to the Environment Committee as follows,

with Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones proposing and Councillor Cathy

Evans seconding the proposal:

8.3 Environment Committee

Cllrs Ron McCoo, Rowan Smith, Matthew Cooling, Marisa O'Hara, Eileen Jones, Gareth Mason

RESOLVED: To appoint members to the Personnel Committee as follows, with

Councillor John Pughe proposing and Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones

seconding the proposal:

8.4 Personnel Committee

Cllrs John Pughe, Gareth Mason, Matthew Cooling, Nancy Clarke, Anne Lloyd-Jones, Marissa O'Hara

RESOLVED: To appoint members to the Personnel Appeals Committee as

follows, with Councillor Alun Wyn Jones proposing and Councillor

Aled Lewis seconding the proposal:

8.5 Personnel Appeals Panel

Cllrs Cathy Evans, Eileen Jones, Aled Lewis, Ron McCoo, Rowan Smith

009. NOMINATE AND APPOINT MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

- 9.1 One Voice Wales
- 9.2 Meirionnydd Access Group
- 9.3 Penybryn School Governing Body
- 9.4 Greener Tywyn

RESOLVED: To appoint representatives as follows to the outside bodies:

9.1 One Voice Wales

Cllr Alun Wyn Evans as proposed by Councillor Cathy Evans and seconded by Councillor Aled Lewis

9.2 Meirionnydd Access Group

Cllr John Pughe as proposed by Councillor Nancy Clarke and seconded by Councillor Marisa O'Hara

9.3 Penybryn School Governing Body

Cllr Cathy Evans as proposed by Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones and seconded by Councillor Marisa O'Hara

9.4 Greener Tywyn

Councillor Rowan Smith spoke to inform the Council that Greener Tywyn no longer requires a representative from the Council be appointed. It was proposed by Councillor Rowan Smith, seconded by Councillor Gareth Mason and resolved that no representative be appointed.

010. TO APPOINT A REPRESENTATIVE TO THE YNYSYMAENGWYN BOARD OF TRUSTEES

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Aled Lewis with Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones proposing and Councillor John Pughe seconding the motion

011. TO APPROVE THE DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2022 - 2023

RESOLVED: To approve the dates of Council Meetings, time and venue as noted

on the list for 2022 - 2023 with Councillor Eileen Jones proposing

and Councillor John Pughe seconding the motion.

012. TO REVIEW AND ADOPT STANDING ORDERS

RESOLVED: To adopt the Standing Orders with Councillor Gareth Mason

proposing and Councillor Nancy Clarke seconding the motion.

013. TO REVIEW AND ADOPT FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

RESOLVED: To adopt the Financial Regulations with Councillor Aled Lewis

proposing and Councillor Nancy Clarke seconding the motion.

014. TO REVIEW THE LIST OF COUNCIL ASSETS

Following a discussion between Councillors, it was Proposed by Councillor Matthew Cooling and seconded by Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones and **RESOLVED** to defer this item until the asset list has been updated

015. TO APPOINT AN INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2022 - 2023

RESOLVED: To appoint Gwynedd Council as the Internal Auditor for 2022 - 2023 with Councillor Aled Lewis proposing and Councillor Ron McCoo seconding the motion.

The Annual Meeting was declared closed at 6.52pm

CADEIRYDD / CHAIRMAN